as white as a dove

overvaluing them, undervaluing you

I have a problem.

And I want to overcome it.

There is nothing more in this world I want than to live a happy life. I do not care how it happens, I don’t care where it happens, I only wish that I am on my death bed laughing about how fun it had all been.

How am I supposed to do that when I keep putting the responsibility of my happiness in others’ hands?

The Lord himself moves in ways I will never understand but let me say this: Many times I thought I had been suffering, and every time it had been a fruitful lesson in earning more.

I read in a book about trauma that it’s not in what had happened but in how we perceive it. People who experienced life changing, character breaking situations were at a 50/50 of sinking down further or building themselves back up from the rubble. How do they do it?

In writing their own narratives where they survive. Where they are working towards a new goal, no matter how small. The mind itself only multiplies what it already has— the worse you feel, the lower you spiral. What happens when you see things from a different perspective?

Some things take time. Relearning how to live. Growing back a forest after a fire. There is space needed to relax and regain strength, before we push ourselves back up and take another step forward.

I am tired of always feeling bad because of someone else’s choices on how to treat me. I will treat myself best.